Vol. 1: Missio, Because of Course…

Considering the name of this blog is a nod to this incredible band, I had to let you in on the not-so-secret sensation that is Missio. This year they have really skyrocketed in popularity and I think it’s safe to say they will only get more popular as time goes on…

That said, I saw them open at The Basement in Columbus, OH, on November 11 of 2016. They were the first band to perform and they came out with energy that exploded once they arrived on stage. The Basement is a small venue, the standing room right in front of the stage can likely hold a couple hundred people max. The place was so jam packed, you got pretty intimately acquainted with those around you. The entire audience erupted in dance. You cannot help but dance when Missio performs.

The highlights of the set were ‘I Don’t Even Care About You’ and ‘Middle Fingers,’ in which they instructed the entire audience to flip them the bird. As the lead singer, Mathew Brue stated in a recent Rolling Stone article, “It is not an ‘eff you’ song, when we play ‘Middle Fingers,’ it’s a chance for everyone in that room to be united.” That is exactly what it did that night in the small and dimly lit Basement. Every single one of us in that audience united to be present and move to the music. For a relatively unknown band, I doubt a single one of us realized who they were before they went on stage, that is no small accomplishment. If you’re familiar with the crowd that attends intimate alternative shows, you are aware that we are not so easily swayed. Their energy and smooth beats cracked through to the core of every person in the room. And, if I’m being completely honest, both Brue and his bandmate, David Butler, are easy on the eyes – providing a great start for that trance-like factor live shows can bring.

They debuted their album, Loner, soon after ‘Middle Fingers’ blew up on ALT Nation. I maintain that at least part of their rise to the top of the alternative charts is due to those of us that fell madly in love with their sound at the K. Flay shows last year. The unsung heroes of this album are ‘Twisted’ and ‘I Don’t Give a…,’ both of which have danceable beats and intelligent lyrics. ‘Twisted’ is my current favorite, mostly the transition from the verse to the chorus has such a one-two punch, that I really love. I also think most of us can relate to the lyric, “Everybody in the world knows I’m a little twisted, twisted.” Because who isn’t a little twisted?

Unfortunately, I did not take any photos or videos when they were playing at the Basement because I was transfixed on them. However, I found this great video on YouTube that captured their essence well. This song is loaded with explicit lyrics, so if that’s something you’re not into, you may not want to press play… To all the rest of you, enjoy.

Until next time…

blog signature.png

Leave a comment